Minutes of the Special General Meeting, held on 24th June 2024 at 10.10am at the Tawa Bowling Club.

Present: 49 members which means that there was a quorum.

A.Wood, Lorraine Williams, Helen Roper, Max George, Graham Ellett, Shirley Williamson, John Williams, Jane de Waal, Frances James, Sheanagh Guilliard, Ron Doggett, Lynne King, Gillian George, Carole Naylor, Rosemary Smith, Mary-Lynn Boyes, Louise Bray-Burns, Alan Martin, Joan Preston, David Wratt, Pat Hammond, June Topham, Susan Lennie, Richard Herbert, Lola Gudsell, Marian Hobbs, Marie Prescott, Tim Davin, Alison Bayly, Peter Saxton, Anne Doggett, Valerie Saxton, Sally Horan, Patrick Horan, Christine Mintrom, Helen O'Callaghan, Digby Gudsell, Kerry Molloy, Trish Molloy, Nicola Lambie, Geoff Machin, Maureen Robson, Barbara Slevin, Louise McGurk, Reg Hammond, Ray Markham, John Bolland, Margaret Herbert, Barbara Russell.

Approving the draft Constitution. New law passed by Parliament has required us to update our constitution. A tool for writing a suitable constitution, including some compulsory paragraphs was provided by MBIA, a Government department. This has been worked on by a small committee led by Alison Bayly and including David Wratt, Marie Prescott and Marian Hobbs. And in April we had a meeting open to all members to discuss the draft we had organised.

Dave Smith had submitted several amendments and these were either agreed to, rejected or amended further. Dave was unable to attend the meeting. The Secretary will contact him with the results of his proposed amendments.

Marian Hobbs agreed to amend our draft and then submit to MBIA.

Moved That the draft constitution as amended at this meeting be ratified by the meeting and submitted to MBIA. This was carried by a large show of hands.

Financial Papers: At the AGM in 2023 a member had found a mistake in the financial records. The mistake did not signify a problem with the finances, but a mistake in recording them. Marie Prescott re-presented the corrected accounts for approval, which was given by the meeting.

Subscription: The issue of all subscriptions being the same amount will be discussed at our next AGM.

Chairperson: Alison Bayly had indicated at the AGM that she would like to stand down at the SGM. Alison nominated Marian Hobbs as the replacement Chairperson. There were no other nominations. There was a show of hands in approval.

Alison was thanked for her sterling work as Chairperson, noting her leadership of the renewal of the constitution. This was strongly acclaimed by the meeting.

The meeting closed at 11.05.